Year 4 – Autumn Term Passports Please

Key Knowledge

- Europe is a continent located entirely in the Northern Hemisphere and mostly in the Eastern Hemisphere.
- There are 44 countries in Europe.
- Europe is bordered by the Arctic Ocean to the north, Asia to the east, the Atlantic Ocean to the west and the Mediterranean Sea to the south.

Neighbouring European countries to the United Kingdom are:

Russia Capital city: Moscow

France Capital city: Paris

Ukraine Capital city: Kiev

Spain Capital city: Madrid

Sweden Capital city: Stockholm



Glossary

Europe - Europe is a continent located entirely in the Northern Hemisphere and mostly in the Eastern Hemisphere. It is bordered by the Arctic Ocean to the north, the Atlantic Ocean to the west, Asia to the east, and the Mediterranean Sea to the south. It comprises the westernmost part of Eurasia.

environmental regions - areas that are broadly divided by physical characteristics, human impact characteristics, and the interaction of humanity and the environment.

physical characteristics — these include bodies of water and landforms, for example, oceans, mountains, lakes, rivers, hills, bays, volcanoes, valleys and peninsulas are all various physical features. Anything that describes the Earth's topography is a physical feature.

human characteristics - these are created by humans, including roads, bridges, dams, reservoirs, factories, houses and buildings.